SP&T News

Headlines News
ONVIF highlights achievements of 2017 in annual meeting

At ONVIF’s annual membership meeting in October, the company gave its members an update on the accomplishments of 2017 and its outlook for 2018.

November 9, 2017  By  SP&T Staff

Attendees heard presentations on the final release of Profile A for broader access control configuration in 2017 and the ongoing development of Profile T for advanced video streaming.

In the webinar’s opening remarks, ONVIF’s Steering Committee chairman Per Bjorkdahl highlighted collective achievements of ONVIF since its founding in 2008, including the continued inclusion of ONVIF in international standards from organizations such as the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) on its IEC TC 79 standard for video surveillance and physical access control standards. Bjorkdahl also cited the progress of ONVIF on a system-to-system approach for interoperability between various management systems.

He also recognized the contributions of three individuals to various ONVIF technical committees. Arsenio Vilallonga, vice president of networked systems, FLIR Systems Inc. and Nicholas Brochu of Genetec were recipients of the 2017 ONVIF Award, which recognizes individuals and companies who have made significant contributions to ONVIF. Additionally, Sriram Prasad Bhetanabottla of Canon Inc. was recognized with the 2017 ONVIF Distinguished Service Award for his role as a contributing core member to the Device Testing activities of the Technical Services Working Group and Profile T.

“Arsenio, Nicholas and Sriram have made significant contributions to the development of Profile T, our newest release candidate for advanced video streaming, as well as the ongoing work of ONVIF,” said Bjorkdahl. “As a member-driven organization, it’s important to recognize members who contribute many hours of service to the work of ONVIF, and contribute to fulfilling our mission.”


Hans Busch of Bosch, chairman of the ONVIF Technical Committee, spoke to members about the specification development roadmap and its alignment to the standardization activities within the IEC TC 79 working groups for video surveillance and physical access control standards.

Technical Services Committee (TSC) Chair Andreas Schneider of Sony gave an overview of the committee’s work on profiles, test tools, the conformance process and Developers’ Plugfests, and highlighted the new conformant product database launched earlier this year.

ONVIF Communication Committee chair Jonathan Lewit of Pelco by Schneider Electric followed the TSC with a recap of the internal and external communications of ONVIF in 2017, designed to promote the adoption of ONVIF Profiles.

Finally, Stan Moyer, ONVIF executive director, announced the results of the annual elections for committees of ONVIF.

Re-elected to the ONVIF Steering Committee were Mayur Salgar of Honeywell and Stuart Rawling of Pelco by Schneider Electric. For the Technical Committee, Hanwha Techwin’s Sujith Raman, Pelco by Schneider Electric’s Steve Wolf, Panasonic’s Hasan Ozdemir, were re-elected, while Tyco Security Product’s Stephen Serplus joined the committee as a new member.

Bob Dolan of Anixter, Andrew Downs of Pelco by Schneider Electric and Giri Guntipalli of Honeywell were re-elected to the Technical Services Committee. Tim Shen of Dahua, Mike Mao of Honeywell and Jonathan Lewit of Pelco by Schneider Electric were re-elected to the ONVIF Communication Committee, while Hikvision’s Jens Berthelsen joined the committee as a new member.

Founding members Axis, Bosch and Sony automatically retain seats on the Steering, Technical and Technical Services Committees.

Print this page


Stories continue below