SP&T News

Appointments News
NICE recognizes 2014 PSAPs’ Finest winners

NICE Systems has announced the winners of its 2014 PSAPs’ Finest Awards in a ceremony held at the NICE booth (#427) during the APCO International 80th Annual Conference and Expo, in New Orleans.

August 5, 2014  By Staff

The PSAPs’ Finest Awards, which are sponsored annually by NICE, recognize exemplary individuals in the field of emergency 9-1-1 communications. Each year, four top performers are selected by a panel of judges from the 9-1-1 industry based on criteria such as: years of service to 9-1-1, exemplary contributions to their agency, innovative thinking and execution, depth of knowledge, dedication, and specific positive impacts to public safety communications in their communities.

The 2014 award recipients are:

Director of the Year:
Teresa Murray
Chief Executive Director
Sacramento Regional Fire/EMS Communications Center
Sacramento, California
Technician of the Year:
Jason Sturgill
Telecommunications Specialist IV
Monterey County Information Technology
Salinas, California

Line Supervisor of the Year:
Julee Todd
Dispatch Supervisor
Sacramento Regional Fire/EMS Communications
Sacramento, California
Telecommunicator of the Year:
Christian Paquette
Communications Operator
Ontario Provincial Police
Ontario, Canada


Serving on the judging panel this year were: Lieutenant Peter Brower, Commanding Officer, Tape and Records Unit, New York City Police Department; Ann E. Flynn, Director, 911 Emergency Communications, Cobb County, Georgia; and Gary Loflin, Director, York County Public Safety Communications, South Carolina.

“Being a member of this year’s judging panel has opened my eyes to the dedicated professional personnel that make up the ‘the world’s lifeline to safety,’ the PSAP,” said Lieutenant Peter Brower, New York City Police Department. “I would like to congratulate this year’s winners and compliment all the nominees on a job well done. Each and every entry very easily could have been chosen as the winner.”

“Public safety communications requires people to be passionate about serving their community and their emergency responders,” said Gary Loflin, Director, York County Public Safety Communications. “From the awards selection process, it became clear that each of the nominees shares this passion, showing diligence and tenacity for providing superior service.”

Print this page


Stories continue below